Amelia Progress….

I had thought this would be the final chapter but it seems not…… Anyway here is the next set of letters from Amelia.

(You can start at the beginning of this tale here: Letters from a Stranger Shore)

Part 14: The Balance of Proof

The date is set for the court hearing of Cora’s complaint. Amelia is still uncertain of how she will contest it.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Brinswark Hall

Nr. Eyam

Derbyshire

11/08/03

Dear Zinawe,

Thank you for your concerns. Yes, things are quite difficult at the moment with all the worries of the court case. We now have a date for the hearing although I do not know what the outcome will be. I do not know what I would do if were to be parted from James. I venture to speak for him in saying that he would feel the same way. We have made our lives together and I am certain that we could not be parted.

All I can do is to hope that the barrister Miss Jones has retained can convince the court that the accusations are groundless. She seems very encouraging and, if the to cost she charges per hour is anything to go by, very competent.

I have been trying to divert myself with work on the estate and my new business venture but I still seem to be drawn to melancholic speculations about the future.

At least Anna is still my stalwart supporter. Her cheery optimism is a tonic. James is always a comfort and your letters and Monique’s have cheered me too. How wonderful it is to have such good friends.

I shall keep my head up and press on.

Your friend.

Amelia.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Brinswark Hall

Nr. Eyam

Derbyshire

12/08/03

Dear Miss Jones,

You said that I should write to you if I discovered anything further that could affect the case.

I believe that I now have documentary evidence that will demonstrate conclusively my parentage and that of James sufficient to have Cora Jefferson’s complaint dismissed.

It would be very helpful if you could call at Brinswark at your earliest convenience so that I can go through the material with you and you can give me your opinion on it.

Yours sincerely,

Lady Amelia Jefferson.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Brinswark Hall

Nr. Eyam

Derbyshire

13/08/03

Dear Lucy,

Wonderful news! Cora Jefferson’s plot has been routed, the clouds have been rolled away and, best of all, I have my beloved James to thank for our deliverance. He has discovered the evidence I believe that I needed. It just goes to show that men may not all be quite as useless as popular opinion here in England would have you believe.

Do you remember how I said that Mama had told me of how she believed that had conceived me at one of Lady Julia’s parties? She assured me that there was no question that my marriage was anything other than valid. Although I could not doubt her, I did not feel this would be enough to convince anyone else. It was obvious to me that Amanda Jones felt the same way and that any attempt to depend on that assertion in court would be doomed to failure.

I was at a loss to know where I might find evidence. Nothing Julia’s husband might say is of any use, since, even were he to be believed, no court would consider a man to be a reliable interpreter of the situation. Amanda Jones believed she would be able to demonstrate that Beckworth was paid for the information she gave Cora, but that did not mean that a jury would think it untrue apparently.

I must confess that I was getting quite despondent and that even James most devoted attentions could not raise my mood.

One of Julia’s friends suggested that I should consult a psychic and attempt to contact Julia for her assurances but I fear I do not believe in such things and besides, as Amanda Jones remarked, the courts would view such evidence as hearsay, even if they could be convinced of its reality. There is some suggestion that a microscopic examination of blood samples might demonstrate the presence or absence of a filial relationship but it seems an entirely unproven technique. Another “scientist” has come forward claiming to be able to read James’s and my brain waves using a sort of helmet that fits over the head and detects the brain’s electrical activity. She could not, however, suggest how this might help solve our problem. The woman seems a complete charlatan.

Thankfully, I have been delivered from these mountebanks, fools and knaves.

After all this James has turned out to be the hero of the hour. He has discovered the evidence that was needed and it supports Mama’s story, although it seems she was rather economical with the truth.

Just yesterday morning James was searching in the library for a book of practical medical remedies (Sadly, the boy’s cock cage had caused him some chaffing as a result of over-excitement during our bedroom games last night and he was hoping to find some way of gaining relief, without bothering me for the use of his key). Alongside a number of dusty volumes he found a series of leather bound notebooks which turned out to be his mother’s journals from her youth. I don’t think he realised their significance, poor boy, but at least he had the sense to bring them to me, “in case there is anything interesting in them”, he said.

Well, there certainly was. Lady Julia had kept notes of all her many parties and sexual adventures, detailing the scandalous goings on at Brinswark Hall in the early days of her marriage. I had known her as a sensible and seemingly straight-laced woman, so to read these tales of excess and debauchery was shocking. Amongst it all, though, was the evidence that will confound Cora’s case.

Reading the journals, at first I was worried. There were passages describing a party at which her “new friend from Holland” had been given Julia’s husband, Howard, as a sex slave and how the poor girl had become pregnant as a result. This was obviously a reference to Mama, although she has never spoken of it. From the dates in the journal this pregnancy must have been me. I was horrified at this for it seemed that then James was indeed my brother and our marriage would be ended. I could see how Cora’s objections had come about and I could not understand how Mama could have reassured me.

Then I read on. “Perhaps I should not have given up on Howard so soon,” Lady Jefferson wrote. “I had not thought that he had it in him. I can only assume that he learned something kneeling at the foot of my bed while I enjoyed that boy from the village. Still, it hardly matters that he is not the father of the child I carry within me. He is probably too stupid to ever realise it in any case and besides, everyone knows that a child receives all its best traits from its mother.”

So, it appears that while I am (as Cora accuses) the daughter of Lady Julia’s husband, he is not James’s father. So, James is not my brother. Amanda Jones considers that it is ample evidence to prevent Cora’s case ever coming to court. Poor Mama had obviously tried to protect her friend from rumour though I wish she had been able to tell me the truth.

The only risk is that Cora may still take her chance in the courts. I do not think it likely though. She will know that I have no fear that the family name will be brought into disgrace – mainly because so one would think it particularly disgraceful. It is after all, no more than Princess Victoria Louise is reputed to get up to.

Amanda Jones says this is ideal evidence and quite uncontrovertible. I shall not give Cora’s unpleasantness another thought.

I was so happy with the discovery that I thought James should have a little reward for his wonderful find. With my belly swollen as it is with my unborn child, it was not really practical to wear my corsets to bed but I did put on a pair of black patent boots with the spikiest of heels and it was a great joy to see James so wide-eyed with delight.

I had worried what James’s reaction would be to the news that he was conceived on the wrong side of the covers, so to speak, but of course I need not have been concerned. He sees the whole thing as a rather romantic episode and now takes pride that some of his blood comes from beyond the closed circles of aristocratic families. He has even tried writing poetry using some of the vernacular expressions of the local working men (including using the obvious and coarse rhyme for the local expression of greeting: “M’duck”) but I fear that is taking things a little too far.

Still, it is good that our worries have been removed.

Your much relieved friend,

Amelia.

………………………………………………………………………………………………

The Connaught Hotel

Belgrave Square

London W1

12/08/1903

Dear Zinawe,

I am writing this after last night’s splendid event!

Firstly many thanks for inviting me to the Awards Ceremony. Your nomination was well-earned and your triumph as Best Newcomer in a Mutoscope Presentation entirely justified. I was so happy to be able to share your success in person. And it was wonderful to see Monique once again for we have not spoken for a while.

The whole event was all a great contrast to the quiet life we enjoy in Derbyshire. How do you cope with all the attention? I would find it most disturbing to have to rely on a squad of policewomen to clear the doting men from my path as you needed outside the theatre. It would certainly try my patience to be as tolerant of their adoration as you are, although I suppose it must be gratifying to see the impact that your work has.

The New Mutoscope Theatre was the ideal venue to view your latest presentation. The comfortable seating with the Mutoscope machines able to be swivelled into place for the viewers comfort was so much grander than the venue where I first experienced a presentation. I must admit I thought the show was beautifully presented. How much work here must be in hand colouring each of the Mutoscope images. I can imagine that whoever keeps the team of men working on that task must be as great a slave driver as the woman that you portrayed!

Goodness, Miss Mifton did an amazing job in fashioning your outfit. I thought you outshone all the other award nominees as you walked in. I was astonished by how your Malay-Tex gown looked and so, I think, were your followers. The gasp as you threw off your cloak just as you entered the theatre must have been heard all the way to Trafalgar Square! If James had not been on a short leash I suspect he would have thrown himself at your feet. (He is very faithful to me but he does have such a weakness for women with a powerful appearance and I think I understand him well enough to know what effect the way you looked would have had on him!)

I had no idea that Mutoscope shows were so popular as to employ so many actresses. It is obviously a thriving industry and you must be gratified to have your part in it recognised.

It was a shame that I had to leave early but I fear with the baby due so soon I sometimes get tired and cannot party in the way I would wish to. You must come up to Brinswark to see the baby when she (or he) arrives.

Congratulations, once again.

Your friend,

Amelia.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Brinswark Hall

Nr. Eyam

Derbyshire

16/08/03

Dear Miss Mifton,

I must congratulate you. I heard this morning that you had been granted a Royal Warrant by Princess Victoria Louise. It must be so gratifying to have your talents recognised and I am certain that it will prove a great boost for your business. I am sure that many women will want to be dressed by the woman that dresses the heir to the throne, although it seems a shame to me that such publicity is needed. I was sure from the moment I saw the garments you made for me that you had a great skill in the construction of clothes that “intimidate, tantalise and arouse”.

Did you hear of the stir that Zinawe Ndoso caused at this year’s Mutoscope Awards? The Malay-Tex gown you created for her certainly drew attention. It is not certain who were more shocked, the women seeing the stark contrast of its white fabric stretched over Zinawe’s statuesque frame or the men who were nonplussed to realise they might be seeing her naked flesh beneath the material. I am certain that the women present noted the reaction of their men; I had to give James’s leash a tug or two to remind him not to stare. If he had not been wearing a silencer I fear his tongue would have been hanging out.

I am sure you will have already had enquiries as a result of Zinawe’s appearance. Do not worry about further supplies of the Malay-Tex fabric. I am told a new shipment will arrive within the coming week. This will include some heavier gauge material which I think might be suitable for garments intended to restrain a man. I am not sure if your tailoring skills extend to dealing with the male form but if you would like to try I wish to commission a Malay-Tex suit for James that I can strap him into on those occasions when he has been tiresome and is in need of some time to be spent in quiet contemplation. I am sure that such meditation – even if it is enforced on an initially unwilling subject – will prove a way of correcting poor attitudes and behaviour. Who knows, it might turn into another profitable line?

Sincerely

Lady Amelia Jefferson

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Brinswark Hall

Nr. Eyam

Derbyshire

16/08/03

Dear Father,

I hope by now you have heard from Mama. I understand now the concerns you had about James and I becoming husband and wife. I am sure you only acted for what you thought was the best but, thank heavens, according to both Mama and Lady Jefferson’s journals, you need have no fears upon that score.

I would so much like it if we could rekindle a friendly relationship. We should not let the mistakes of the past dictate the future. I believe that you have always wanted my happiness and I have certainly found that in my life with James. English society may not be your ideal (and indeed, to me it still has many strangenesses) but it is where James and have chosen to make our lives and I hope you will respect that.

Please tell me that you will visit when the baby comes.

Your daughter, Amelia

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Brinswark Hall

Nr. Eyam

Derbyshire

17/09/03

Dearest Mama,

The happiest of tidings. I gave birth to a daughter yesterday morning at 4:00am and we are both well. She was a week earlier than expected but weighted a healthy seven pounds (they do not go in for what they call that “foreign kilogram nonsense” here) and the midwife declares that she is quite as perfect as I believe her to be. She is also – so far – the most contented of babies. I hope that she continues to be so as I feel a need for a period of recovery. The exertions of my confinement do not encourage me to repeat the experience (although everyone tells me THAT feeling will wear off quickly – we shall see).

Everyone has been busy trying to see likenesses to the late Lady Jefferson in the child, but I must confess that I feel she most resembles you, Mama, with a round face and large brown eyes. She does however have a way of wrinkling her nose that recalls her father’s habit when he is thinking. I suppose she must take something from me (she is quite a long baby so I suspect I may have contributed my gawkiness), we shall see.

James has been so attentive. He barely lets me fetch anything for myself, being quick to satisfy any desire that I might express. He must be saddened that his mother never got to see the grand-daughter she longed for but he never mentions this, directing all his energies to caring for me and for the baby.

When we come to the naming ceremony, both James and I agree that we should celebrate both yourself and James’s mother, and we both think Helga Julia Jefferson would be a fine name for her to carry through life.

What do you think?

I also heard this week that Cora intends no further action in her case. Amanda Jones has suggested that I might pursue her for costs incurred contesting what she describes as a “malicious prosecution” but my first inclination is to allow things to blow over. I think there is little value in pursuing her, especially when I will have so much to do around the home and Anna tells me that there are many improvements needed in the running of the estate.

You loving daughter,

Amelia

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Brinswark Hall

Nr. Eyam

Derbyshire

26/09/03

Dear Lucy,

How good to hear from you. Thank you for your good wishes for the baby. She is still so well and seems completely healthy. James dotes on her of course and has been a wonderful help around the nursery.

It sounds as though your business is going from strength to strength. Who would have thought that there were so many French men desperate to suffer the disdain of a Brabanter girl! Given the indignities heaped on Brabant in the past by the French I can imagine you take some considerable pleasure from being able to revenge yourself and have them pay you for the privilege.

I see you have a new address. Passy is a very smart district, I believe, so handy for the Trocadero Gardens that must be so beautiful in Autumn and with the river nearby as well. It is so fortuitous that you could find somewhere that allows you to combine your living accommodation and your place of work. And, how convenient that you have discovered a taste among your clients to be compelled to perform domestic duties. No doubt you are saving on the costs of household staff, though I suspect it can be tiresome to have to supervise their work. It sounds as though you, like me, have completely adapted to the idea that men need not be the aggressive, boorish types that we so often had to put up with in Brabant.

For myself, life here is delightful. We now have a nanny for little Helga Julia which has made life very much easier and allows James and I time to be together. (Helga Julia is a beautiful baby but very demanding. She seems especially to insist on her father’s attention. I am sure it is too early to judge but she has perhaps inherited her grandmother’s view of the role men should play in her life!). James has embarked on a series of new paintings inspired by tales of witchcraft and dragons, which he says are becoming very much the vogue. They mainly feature witches in very commanding poses – casting spells and the like – and cowering males in the role of the witch’s familiar. I asked him yesterday why all of his witches seem to have my features and he replied that it must be because I had cast a spell over him so that he could imagine no other woman. Really, sometimes he is too sweet.

While I could not imagine any man for me other than James (I do so love how he snuggles against me at night and the whimpers he makes in his sleep as a result of the constraint of his cage should he become aroused by dreams) I still long for the attentions of my Anna. She was concerned at first with my taking over the hall and she being asked to run the estate and suggested that our meetings should stop. I told her that I could not bear not seeing her and we continue our clandestine meetings. She is as passionate as I and the engine shed has witnessed some frantic embraces. I have managed to smuggle her into my bedroom in the hall on a few occasions having secured James with a silencer and hood so he would not interrupt us or without a blindfold if I wish him to learn something of Anna’s skills. He can even be prevailed upon to help Anna bathe if she has had a particularity strenuous day and, of course, he can be completely trusted with his manhood locked away (even if I know Anna would rebuff any advance that he might make for she has said she has no interest in the male sex at all).

So, life at Brinswark continues much as before and my own little business venture is growing surprisingly quickly. Let me know if you would be interested in seeing some of the garments that Miss Mifton has created using Malay-Tex. I am sure they would be attractive to your clientele. Certainly, James is besotted with my wearing the stretchy, clingy material and I have only to appear in my long, black, Malay-Tex evening gown to have him reduced to complete and speedy compliance in whatever I wish. I think even the smell of it arouses him – I had him hooded the other night and simply passing my Malay-Tex gloved hand beneath his nostrils was sufficient to draw a whimper of appreciation. I suppose I should not take advantage of his desires so but he does seem to enjoy it and I must confess that I do find it quite amusing.

Anyway that is all my news for now. Keep well and happy.

Your friend,

Amelia.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

The final letter in the portfolio is a quickly written note on the Hall’s headed paper. Sadly the file of correspondence ends at this point, although it is known that she continued to live at Brinswark Hall, producing a further daughter and a son as well as progressing her business interests. Her husband, James, became with his wife’s support, a popular portraitist specialising in representing local society women in mythological guises.

The final note suggests none of this but provides a tantalising glimpse of how Amelia’s life was developing as she approaches the second anniversary of her marriage with what is obviously a direction to the housekeeper for preparations for expected visitors.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

31/6/1904

Hasty,

Arrangements for the forthcoming anniversary dinner.

I expect guests to be arriving after four o’clock on Friday afternoon, subject to the vagaries of the Channel ferries and the rail services. Please ask Mr Hastings to telegraph the ports in order to check the docking times of the ferries. James and I will receive our guests with tea in the Orangery as they arrive.

My father and mother will be in the Chinese Bedroom. Miss Lucy Broeren and her guest will be sharing the Green Suite.

Miss Ndoso, Miss Stephane and Miss Couzens will be in the West Wing. They will all have accompanying gentlemen. There are no special dietary limitations for cook to concern herself with but she should take account of the risk of delay to my guests’ arrival. Please let the all staff know that my father is not familiar with the conventions for male behaviour here in England and would they please make allowances accordingly. I think we can assume the other gentlemen will have been suitably schooled.

No doubt Helga Julia will be a centre of attention but I will try to limit the disruption to her normal routine. I will sort that out with Nannie directly.

Lady Amelia.

THE END

You can read the next and final chapter here.

One thought on “Amelia Progress….

Leave a comment